Friday , September 22 2023
Home / Entertainment / Stephanie Linus Win Big At The AMVCA 2016

Stephanie Linus Win Big At The AMVCA 2016

DStv_Billboard_2500x900_AMVCAs_New_lrgFormer most beautiful girl in Nigeria, Stephanie Linus, was the biggest winner at the 2016 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA)  when her film Dry, won the Best Overall Movie at the even held  the Eko Convention Centre in  in Lagos On Saturday.

Other winners at Africa’s Oscars included new comer Adesua Etomi, who won the best actor drama(female) for her role in Falling, another new kid on the block Daniel K Daniel won the Best actor drama(male) for his sterling performance in ‘a Soldiers Story’.

The best director award went to South African based Nigerian director, Akin Omotosho for his film ‘Tell me something sweet’. Veteran actors Bukky Zainab Ajayi and Sadiq Daba were awarded the Industry Merit awards while Kemi lala Akindoju won the trailblazer award.


Here are the winners.

* Stephanie Linus – Best Overall Movie (Dry)

*Akin Omotosho  – Best Director

*Daniel K Daniel –  Best Actor, Drama (A SOLDIER’S STORY)

*Adesua Etomi – Best Actress , Drama (Falling)

*Chinny Onwugbenu, Genevieve Nnaji, Chichi Nwoko win Best Movie – West African (Road to Yesterday)

*Bukky Ajayi & Sadiq Daba –  Industry Merit Award *

Kemi Lala Akindoju – Trailblazer Award

*Funke Akindele – Best Actress, Comedy (Jenifa’s Diary)

*Folarin Falana – Best Actor , Comedy (Jenifa’s Diary)

*Paul Michaelson wins Best Cinematographer award

*Elizabeth Michael – Best Movie ( East African)

*Joyce Mhango Chavula – Best Movie – Southern Africa

*Tunbosun Aiyedehin -Best Supporting Actress (Before 30)

*Sambassa Nzeribe – Best Supporting Actor (A Soldier’s Story)

*Remi Vaughan-Richards –  Best Documentary

*Paul Igwe – Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series (Usekwu Igbo )

*Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola – Best Indigenous Language Movie (Yoruba) (Binta Ofege)

*Salisu Balarabe – Best Local Language Movie ( Hausa)

*Josephat Lukaza – Best Indigenous Language Series or Movie (Swahili) ( Kitendawili ) *

Uche Nancy – Best Costume Designer for (Dry)

*Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Best Picture Editor Award *Paul Michaelson –  Best Cinematographer

*Stanlee Ohikhuare – Best Lighting *Trish Malone – Best Drama Writer

*Oluseyi Amuwa – Best Short Film /Online Video



Check Also

A – Z of Ibadan Achievements

  By Toyin Falola I am glad to accept the invitation of the Ibadan Descendant …

Achebean Studies: A Tribute and A Syllabus

  By Toyin Falola   On September 29 and 30, 2023, some of the most …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :