Friday , March 24 2023
Home / News / El-Rufai Retires 20 Perm Secs, Appoints 13 New Aides In Kaduna

El-Rufai Retires 20 Perm Secs, Appoints 13 New Aides In Kaduna

Kaduna State Governor, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai has announced the retirement of 20 Permanent secretaries from the state civil service after streamlining ministries from 19 to 13 and also to cut cost of governance in the state.

Simultaneously, the governor appointed some aides and chief executives of agencies in the state.

The governor said retiring the permanent secretaries was part of government’s efforts to free up resources to be used for the provision of quality schools, hospitals, roads and other public goods.

The government, he argued, had at inception declared its determination to cut costs, drive efficiency and improve service delivery.

According to him, to ensure that the number of permanent secretaries is properly aligned with the new structure, there will be only 13 permanent secretaries for the 13 ministries.

The ministries are: Justice, Agriculture and Forestry; Commerce, Industry and Tourism; Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Youth, Sports and Culture.

Others are Environment and Natural Resources, Women Affairs and Social Development, Water Resources, Health and Human Services, Education, Science and Technology, Budget and Planning, Finance, Works, Housing and Transport.

He added that five departments, Public Service Office; the Bureau of Establishments; Political and Economic Affairs; Cabinet and Security Services and General Services would  be headed by permanent secretaries.

“This will bring the total number of permanent secretaries in the civil service to 18,” he added.

Meanwhile, the retired permanent secretaries include: Isa Ismail, Information (Zaria); Hassan Mohammed, Deputy Governor’s Office (Birnin-Gwari); Ben Maitamaki, Chieftaincy Affairs (Kajuru); Abubakar S. Abdullahi, Education (Chikun); Ja’afar Sa’idu, Works and Transport (Soba); Joshua Gambo Garba, State Pension Bureau (Lere); Marcus H. Baba, Teachers’ Service Board  (Chikun); Dr. Madinatu Sheet, Science and Technology (Igabi).

Others are, Sani Aliyu Kudan, Office of the Head of Service (Kudan); Rev. Felix Musa Billy, Bureau of Religious Affairs (Christian Matters) Kaura; Mrs. Ladi E. Pati, Special Duties (Kachia); Dennis A. Wahal, Local Government Pension (Kauru); Ahmad Abdu Zaria, Environment and Natural Resources (Zaria); Adamu D. M. Kagarko, Water Resources (Kagarko) and Lawal M. Usman, Protocol Dept (Kaduna North).

Others still are: Ishaya Yem Parah, Rural & Community Development (Jaba); Adamu Atama, Public Service Reforms (Kagarko); Ya’u Garba Jumare, SUBEB (Sabon-Gari); Suleiman Samba, Lands and Surveys (Makarfi); AbdurRahman Mahmoud, Bureau of Religious Affairs (Islamic Matters) (Kaduna South).

However, those appointed are: Thomas Gyang, Special Adviser on Budget Monitoring and Price Intelligence Unit to the governor and Alhaji Ibrahim Muhammad-Aminu, Chairman, Local Government Service Commission and Ezekiel Baba-Karik, Executive Secretary of the State Emergency Management Agency.

The appointments, according to a statement by el-Rufai’s Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Samuel Aruwan, takes immediate effect.

Mr. Gyang, the Special Adviser on Budget was a 1978 graduate of Quantity Surveying from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

He worked as a professional Quantity Surveyor for government, private organisations for 35 years.

He is member of the Nigeria Institute of Quantity Surveyors.



Check Also

Soludo congratulates Tinubu, says Nigeria needs healing

Gov. Chukwuma Soludo of Anambra has congratulated Sen. Bola Tinubu, the President-elect on his victory …

Corpse of unidentified driver found in Akure

The Police Command in Ondo State has confirmed the killing of a man, whose identity …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :