Wednesday , November 29 2023
Home / News / Govt Inaugurates Governing Councils Of 13 Varsities

Govt Inaugurates Governing Councils Of 13 Varsities

The federal government has inaugurated the governing council of 13 federal universities.
The universities are Federal University Lokoja, Federal University; Lafia, Nasarawa State; Federal University, Kashere, Gombe; Federal University Wukari Taraba; Federal University Dutsin Ma, Katsina; Federal University Dutse Jigawa; Ndufu Alike Ebonyi; Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Federal University, Otuoke; Federal University, Birin Kebbi; Federal University Gusau; Federal University Zamfara; Federal University Gashua, Yobe; and Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo Benue.

The minister asked the governing boards to block loopholes and generate ideas that will increase the internally generated revenue of the universities.

He also asked them to comply with the Federal Character Commission in the appointment of officers.
The minister of education, Adamu Adamu, who inaugurated the council in Abuja said the major critical areas of challenge is inadequate funding as well judicious use of available resources.

He added, “You will have to block the loopholes where the IGR slides away, I urge you to also comply and respect the rule of the Federal Character Commission in the appointment of your officers.”
He added the visitation panels will be visiting the universities in the next weeks, “ the new council members to effectively cooperate with the panel so as to lay a good foundation.”
Also speaking, the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission ( NUC), Adamu Rasheed, said the inauguration of the council members marks the beginning of a new phase in the introduction of first 12 specialised universities.
“The NUC is also inspired by the Map of 2018-2020 and it has been committed to revitalising Nigeria university education such as urgent fostering skills development and entrepreneur as well as addressing inadequacies in facilities,” Mr Adamu said.
Responding, the representative of the newly appointed chairmen, Funmilayo Monguno, while pledging the best of services from the council members, said the members looked forward to cooperation from the Minister and the NUC specifically in the provision of useful information.

Among the newly appointed council chairmen is Nimi Briggs who chairs the governing council of Ndufo Alike University, Ebonyi State.
The federal government had earlier approved the dissolution of the governing councils of the University of Port Harcourt, and the Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko, in Delta State.

Check Also

Zenith Bank signs MoU with French govt

  Zenith Bank Plc has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the French Government …

Ororo oil well fire is blow on Nigerian conscience, says environmentalist Bassey

    The Federal Government has been blamed for its failure to put an end …