Wednesday , June 3 2020
Breaking News
Home / Sports / Super Eagles Boss Rohr Recalls Mikel Obi In 25-Man Provisional Squad for AFCON 2019

Super Eagles Boss Rohr Recalls Mikel Obi In 25-Man Provisional Squad for AFCON 2019

Super Eagles boss Gernot Rohr has recalled captain Mikel Obi and Kelechi Iheanacho in his 25-man provisional squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).
Mikel has been away from the Super Eagles since the last game against Argentina at 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Mikel’s return to the Super Eagles camp happened after a meeting with Rohr in the United Kingdom.

Rohr has largely kept faith with the players who earned a ticket to the AFCON finals with a match to spare.

All invited players and officials are to report at the Golden Tulip hotel, Asaba on Sunday, June 2, ahead of the friendly with the Warriors of Zimbabwe at the Stephen Keshi stadium on Saturday, June 8

The team will depart for Egypt on Sunday, June 9, aboard a chartered aircraft.

The team will set up a final training camp in the city of Ismailia and tackle Africa’s number one–ranked team, Senegal in their final pre-Afcon friendly on Sunday, June 16.

Nigeria confront Burundi, Guinea and Madagascar in that order in Group B of the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations taking place in four Egyptian cities from June 21 to July 19.

Twenty-five Super Eagles for 2019 Afcon

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)



Check Also

Man United Extend Ighalo Loan Deal Till 2021

Manchester United have reached agreement with Shanghai Greenland Shenhua to extend the loan deal for …

Bundesliga: Bayern Defeat Frankfurt To Remain Four Points Clear

Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich resisted a second-half fightback by Eintracht Frankfurt to claim a 5-2 …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :