Monday , October 3 2022
Breaking News
Home / News / Senate Confirms Eight REC Nominees

Senate Confirms Eight REC Nominees

The senate has confirmed the remaining eight resident electoral commissioners (RECs) of the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC).

On June 1, the upper legislative chamber confirmed 15 out of the 27 nominees sent by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Suleiman Nazif, chairman of the senate committee on INEC, had explained that the remaining 12 were still undergoing screening.

But at plenary on Wednesday, Nazif presented the report on the remaining 12 nominees for confirmation.

The senator also said nomination of Mustapha Zubairu (Niger) was rejected because he is from the same senatorial district as Mohammed Haruna, national commissioner of INEC, north-central.

He explained that the committee was still making “consultations” on Mahmuda Isah (Kebbi) and Bello Mahmud (Zamfara).

The senators also agreed to step down the nominee of Rufus Akeju (Lagos) after Abiodun Olujimi, senator representing Ekiti south, presented a court ruling against him.

The detail of ruling was not disclosed but Bukola Saraki, senate president, referred it to the committee on INEC to look into it and report back to the upper legislative chamber.


Asmau Maikudi, Katsina

Sam Olumekun, Ondo

Riskuwa Shehu, Sokoto

Kasim Geidam, Yobe

Jibrin Zarewa, Kano

Abdulganiyu Raji, Oyo

Samuel Egwu, Kogi

Mike Igini, Delta



Check Also

Obey Court Order and Return To Classroom, FG Tells ASUU

The federal government has warned the Academic Staff Union of Universities(AUU) to obey the order …

FULL SPEECH: President Buhari’s Independence Day

On October 1, President Muhammad Buhari addressed the nation on the occasion of this year’s Independence Day. …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :