Friday , December 9 2022
Breaking News
Home / News / 2016 ICAO Audit: Team Concludes Visit To Nigeria, Okays NCAA’s Safety Roadmap

2016 ICAO Audit: Team Concludes Visit To Nigeria, Okays NCAA’s Safety Roadmap

Capt. Abdullahi SidiAhead of the ICAO Universal Safety Oversight Audit Programme (USOAP) slated for March, 2016, the Six-man team from the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) that arrived Nigeria on a technical assistance visit has concluded its assignment.

The visiting team was in the Country for about two weeks to offer necessary assistance to the Nigeria State in its preparation towards the Universal Safety Audit for next year.
At a debriefing session with all the stakeholders in Lagos, mid-week, Mr. John Gratton, leader of the ICAO team, acknowledged the standardisation of NCAA’s Safety Roadmap, which he described as foremost in Africa.

The occasion, held at the Authority’s conference room, was attended by representatives of the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria [FAAN], Nigerian Airspace Management Agency [NAMA] and the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority [NCAA].

Gratton commended other aviation sister Agencies in the country for their overall contribution to Safety and Security in Nigeria and Africa. The team tasked the stakeholders not to rest on their oars, urging them to give swift attention to all identified deficiencies in the industry.

In his response, Capt. Muhtar Usman, Director General, NCAA, represented by Capt. Abdullahi Sidi, Director of Operations and Training [DOT], not only gave the assurance that the authority will continue to carry out its oversight functions effectively at all times as a prerequisite for successful outing in the ICAO Audit, but promised that all open items would be addressed promptly.

Usman assured the team that all the basic guidelines given will be religiously followed by all stakeholders.

Apart from Gratton, who led the ICAO team, other members of the delegation include Mrs. Kristian Dores, Mr. Michael (Mickey) Mcdonald, and Mr. Tahir Hussain Siddiqui. Others are Mrs Naomi Mwaugi and Mr Ben Hallberg.

By Patrick Aigbokhan



Check Also

Chatham House to host Obi in January

Presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP), Peter Obi, has been invited to speak on …

Nigeria does not need a leader but a deliverer, says Oyedepo

The General Overseer of Living Faith Church Worldwide, Bishop David Oyedepo, on Thursday, said Nigeria …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :