Thursday , September 21 2023
Home / News / Jega, 6 INEC Commissioners Bow Out Tuesday

Jega, 6 INEC Commissioners Bow Out Tuesday

Following the expiry of his five-year tenure, Prof. Attahiru Jega, Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), is set to vacate office on Tuesday.

A statement by the Public Affairs Department of INEC said that Jega, who hails from Kebbi State, is to bow out of office with six national commissioners who were appointed the same day with him by former president Goodluck Jonathan in 2010.

They are: Col. M.K. Hammanga (rtd), Adamawa State (North East); Dr Ishmael Jikiri Igbani, Rivers State (South South); Prof. Lai Olurode, Osun State (South West); Dame Gladys Nne Nwafor, Abia State (South East); Mrs Thelma Amata Iremiren, Delta State (South South); and Engr. Dr. Nuru Yakubu, Yobe State (North East).

Subsequently, four other national commissioners will also leave the commission in July and August, this year. They include: Dr. Abdulkadir Oniyangi, Kwara State    (North Central) and Mrs. Amina Bala Zakari, Jigawa State (North West). Their tenure will expire on July 21 while Dr. Chris Iyimoga, Nasarawa State (North Central) and Dr. Mohammed Wali, Sokoto State (North West) will complete their tenure on August 11.

In a related development, the tenures of 16 Resident Electoral commissioners (RECs) have expired and they already left the commission last week. They are: Ahmad Makama, Bauchi State; Haliru Tambuwal, Sokoto State; Abdullahi  Danyaya, Niger  State; Abubakar Wara, Kebbi State; Mr. Mike Igini, Delta State; Prof. Selina Oko, Ebonyi State; Hussaini Mahuta, Katsina State.

Others are, Dr. A. L. Ogunmola, Oyo State; Alhaji Ibrahim Zarewa, Kano State; Prof. Tukur Sa’ad, Adamawa State; Dr. Emmanuel Onucheyo, Kogi State; Kassim Gana Gaidam, Yobe State; Mr. Timothy Ibitoye, Osun State; Amb. Rufus Akeju, Lagos State; Prof. C.E. Onukaogu, Abia State and Ibrahim Bagobiri Marafa, Zamfara State.

The statement further reassured that despite the depletion of the commission as a result of the progressive expiration of the tenures of national commissioners, its operations will continue normally because it can always form a quorum.




Check Also

The West and the Hypocrisy of Democracy

By Toyin Falola   Western deception has been with Africa forever: 1493: Pope Alexander VI …

Tinubu celebrates wife @63

    President Bola Tinubu has described his wife, First Lady Oluremi, as a strong …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :